2013 wrap and running goals for 2014

Oh, 2013. It’s over already? But it was a good year overall: I was employed for almost all of the year, I became an uncle, and I got engaged! Cheryl and I will be married this July.

As for my running in 2013, I made significant breakthroughs. I entered a variety of race distances, including my first 5k, and raced well in all of them. So well in fact that of the six races I entered in 2013, I set or broke a personal best in five of them. (The sixth, the BMO Vancouver Half, was still under 2:00, which was my goal). I had set for myself just to break the PB for the half marathon at the beginning of 2013, but I went ahead and broke PBs in three other race distances.

For 2014, I want to break at least two more PBs. Unusually, I have already set my race calendar, which includes an 8k, a 10k, two half marathons, and concludes with a return to New York in November because of the cancellation of the 2012 NYC Marathon.

I’ve been content to run three times a week, scheduling them in advance. The thing that still eludes me is the cross-training, which I indicated last year. If I can schedule my runs, then I can certainly schedule cross-training at least once a week. I think Friday evenings are a good place to squeeze those in.

As for my running mileage, I finished the year 2013 with 1,505 km (935 mi), which was short of my goal of 1,609 km (1,000 mi). Sometimes life gets in the way, so I wasn’t too fussed; in any case, it should be more about quality over quantity, right? My mileage target for 2014 is set again for 1,000 miles. Training for a marathon in the summer and early fall will definitely get me there.

This is going to be an interesting year: lots of races, with a wedding in the middle of the year. I’m ready!

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2014!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 596 other followers