Jane Austen City Limits

The title of the post has been in my head for a while, and now I can finally use it. On Sunday, PBS’ Masterpiece Theatre begins its Complete Jane Austen series, which comprises six dramatizations of Austen’s complete novels, four of which are new productions, as well as an original biopic, Miss Austen Regrets.

PBS’ preview:

I’m no Janeite, but I could be called an Austen aficionado: I have copies of all six novels (mid-1990s editions of Penguin Classics). I remember reading Pride and Prejudice in high school, Coles Notes on standby. I then had to read it again… for a history course. The novelty of that led me to another course devoted to Austen and Walter Scott, which I enjoyed immensely.

I’m particularly looking forward to Mansfield Park (Jan 27), with Billie Piper as Fanny Price, and the 1995 BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice (Feb 10-24). I’ve never seen it in its entirety (at least in a linear fashion), so finally it’s on my calendar.

One Comment on “Jane Austen City Limits”

  1. […] was relieved with Nate and Jen’s elimination, I hopped over to PBS for the first week of its Jane Austen film festival. Persuasion started it off. Strange as it was to have the most sombre of Austen’s six novels […]


Leave a Reply

