Running toward another 21.1

I’ve started a 16-week training program toward my fourth half-marathon. This time it will be the BMO Vancouver Half Marathon. The challenge to being training in the cold, the rain, and sometimes the snow and ice is nothing new. Last year, on the first day of the Sun Run group training, everyone went out in really icy conditions. You haven’t been running in Vancouver unless you go out in truly horrible weather. Believe me, I’ve done the last two-thirds of 2007’s Scotia Half Marathon in a downpour.

I’ll now be entering my third year as a regular runner, and while it can be a struggle to lace up the shoes when you’d rather do something, anything else, I find it a time where I can de-stress, turn off my brain, and focus on the pounding of my feet against the pavement. I know trying to keep my schedule over the next 16 weeks will be a challenge, but I can manage. I’ll leave you with something that really struck me as I was reading The Time Traveler’s Wife this fall. I’m sure all runners can relate to this quotation:

Running is many things to me: survival, calmness, euphoria, solitude. It is proof of my corporeal existence, my ability to control my movement through space if not time, and the obedience, however temporary, of my body to my will.

Leave a Reply

