BMO Half Training update #2

I’ve done three weeks so far, and these are the distances I’ve logged:

  • Week 1: 3 runs, 10.62 km (longest: 5.02)
  • Week 2: 3 runs, 14.06 km (longest: 7.73)
  • Week 3: 1 run, 10.76 km

The 10.76 happened on Saturday, the day I scheduled my long runs. After neglecting my other two scheduled runs this week (combination of bad weather, overtime, moving, and sheer fatigue), I was determined to squeeze in the long run in between bouts of packing. It was a crisp, cool, sunny afternoon run: perfect winter conditions. I deliberately kept it slow and steady, considering this was my first run in a week. Plotting the map and feeding the numbers into a spreadsheet afterward, I was pretty pleased with my run today. Yes, that’s what happens when an accountant takes up running: you gotta have Excel analyze the minutiae and see if your run speed is trending up or down. Never mind: it only gets tougher, and I still have to put in hills and speedwork, so back to the pavement on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

