Happy International Quirkyalone Day!

I’ve always been suspicious of Valentine’s Day and its attendant Hallmark-ization: from sappy cards to overpriced flowers, it all seems excessive. I’m no cynic, but everyday should be Valentine’s Day, and not just to your spouse/partner/significant other, but showing everyone near and dear to you how much you care about them.

iqd-card(Not) coincidentally, February 14 is also a day of celebration for those who identify themselves as quirkyalones. I caught on to the word, and the concept, in 2004, just after Sasha Cagen published her “Manifesto for Uncompromising Romantics”. Cagen’s original essay, which dates back to 2000, sums up quirkyaloneness rather well. When I read that for the first time, I was struck at how well her description of quirkyalone matches my state of mind about relationships. For me, one paragraph stands out, and it’s so poignant that I’ve re-printed the last line on a Post-it on my desk:

For the quirkyalone, there is no patience for dating just for the sake of not being alone. We want a miracle. Out of millions, we have to find the one who will understand.

I would describe my single-ness as being 70% by choice, 30% by circumstance. It’s something I’ve long accepted, despite the frustration that pops up from time to time, and if that “miracle” never happens, then c’est la vie. On this Feb 14, therefore, I’ll just go about my day, celebrating not just quirkyaloneness but the independent spirit attached to it.

Happy International Quirkyalone Day!

Quiz – How quirkyalone are you?

(IQD graphic from quirkyalone.net)

Leave a Reply

