November: the pressure’s on

What an interesting time to be looking for work! After quitting in June and taking the summer off for a few trips, I wouldn’t be as rushed to go back if it weren’t for an impending cash-flow crunch. Long story short, I made a last-minute, exercise of stock options from my last company just as the world’s equity markets went down the toilet. The options are below water (ie. the current price is below what the average exercise price), and any attempt to sell now would result in a loss.

Since selling the shares would be an option of last resort, and I’m not touching my RRSPs (I don’t even want to look at them, considering what has happened), I’ve had to take a very close look at what cash I do have remaining. I could be down to zero near the end of the month, so that’s why this month is critical for me to find work. With companies laying off recently (Amex and Electronic Arts among them), it just might be a bit of a challenge, but I’m ready to take it on. Anyone need an intermediate- to senior-level accountant?

Leave a Reply

