262 to 26.2

(Welcome to those who are visiting this blog as a result of the recent monthly Vancouver Blogger Meetup, or Jan Karlsbjerg’s customary roll-call of the meetup. If I didn’t meet you, there is always next month’s meeting!)

The title of this post refers to the fact I have 262 days to train for the 26.2 miles that make up the Royal Victoria Marathon. I’m splitting it in two, basically: right now, I’ve just started 16 weeks of training for the BMO Vancouver Half Marathon. As soon as that’s over, I’ll be training for the marathon proper.

It’s still a long way away, but I know that preparing to run a marathon requires as much mental training as physical. And a lot of that mental training should include some positive reinforcement. But then again, my goal right now is just to finish a marathon, so I have a bit to go in that category. Hopefully I can use all my previous experiences and channel that into a confidence-boost that should get me to the finish line in a time that I can claim with pride.

Leave a Reply

