Integrating my online presence?

OK, I may have been blogging for a year, but I still have a lot to learn. Unfortunately, I’m usually the last to know about the events where I could actually learn something and meet people in the process: various Wordcamps (the most recent in Whistler) and Northern Voice (sold out in days).

Wordcamp Whistler was heavily covered through liveblogs and the like, and I don’t expect anything less from Northern Voice, so it would be as if I was attending the conferences in person in terms of learning more about a particular topic. Nevertheless, I still have something to bring to the ether: How could I best integrate my online presence? Sure, I cross-link my various online personae, but I’m sure I could do more, like standardizing a common name across everything.

One option I haven’t yet done due diligence is setting up a dedicated domain name. But that opens up another can of worms: How much? Can I transfer my blogs over? Maintenance? Extra security/privacy precautions?

Sorry for all the questions, but it’s something I’ve had in my head for a while, and it was about time to bring it out in the open. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

