Tale of the taper

This is it. Less than a week left until M-day, the one event for which I’ve been training all summer, for which I’ve set my sights for almost a full year, and I’m feeling the almost-clichéd simultaneous nervousness and excitement. If nothing else, I’m saddened that it’s almost coming to an end.

When I started this training four months ago, the whole thing was daunting, from tempo runs and hills to the long runs that, at the time, seemed impossible to achieve. Now, 21 weeks and an incredible 683 km (424 mi) later, I’m on the verge of completing my first marathon.

I’ll return next Monday with a wrap and much more thoughts on race weekend.

Leave a Reply

