My music 2009

This doesn’t need an introduction. Here’s the music from 2009 that moved me.

Metric, Fantasies (Last Gang)

Emily Haines and co. have done it again, and they’ve built on the strengths of Live It Out to create an album that has a similar sound, and yet, there is a maturity that comes from constant touring and Haines’ own solo work. Fantasies keeps up the energy from beginning to end, and does not let up. Here’s the video for “Gimme Me Sympathy”, which is one of my favourite tracks from the album:

(Three more after the jump…)

Misstress Barbara featuring Sam Roberts, “I’m Running” (from I’m No Human [Energia])

In a year in which I broke through on a couple of fronts in my running (first marathon, broke my PB for the half marathon), this song is the only one of many running-related songs that was released this year. Sure, I’ve claimed myself that I don’t usually bring music while I run, but that doesn’t mean it’s not on repeat play on my iPod to and from work, or that I don’t use it to pump me up before or after a run. Here’s the video:

St Vincent, Actor (4AD)

This album is a great follow-up to her debut, Marry Me. The multi-layered sounds are still there. Annie Clark’s voice carries each of the songs and, for the most part, complements those layers well. I particularly like opening track “The Strangers” for those reasons. It’s basically 39 minutes of pop magic. Here’s the video for “Actor Out of Work”:

Yeah Yeah Yeahs, It’s Blitz! (Interscope)

Now these are the YYYs of old! Karen O is writhing her way again through the choruses, and I barely restrain myself from singing along (seriously!). I have the version with acoustic versions of some tracks, and they’re just as great to bring you down slightly after the shock and awe of the first ten tracks. Video for “Zero”; loving the location filming in San Francisco:

And some honourable mentions:

  • Bell Orchestre, As Seen Through Windows (Arts & Crafts)
  • Neko Case, Middle Cyclone (Anti-)
  • Emm Gryner, Goddess (Dead Daisy)
  • Imogen Heap, Ellipse (Megaphonic/RCA)
Leave a Reply

