Transit field reports, November 10

A couple of items from my weekly foray into Surrey:

1. 22nd Street Station must be crazy in the peak periods. At least everyone has queued up in an orderly fashion from the bus stop pole. For the bus I was taking that day, the 340 Scottsdale, this line actually looped around itself, since it would be encroaching into the next stop in the loop.

Such a line suggests to me that a bus is late. One bus arrived into the loop and pulled into the stop for the 340, but did not board passengers. That’s when another bus went in behind and opened its doors. The orderly queue broke up immediately as those at the back of the line poured into this bus, while the other passengers who were at the head of the line felt cheated.

But wait, there’s more! I boarded the second bus, fine. But it did not leave with a full load. No standing passenger went up the steps to the rear of the bus. There was a big debate in the Buzzer Blog recently, and I concur with one of the commenters that it’s just the aversion of going up those steps. That must have been double frustration for those passengers at the front of the line, most of whom stuck around to wait to board the first bus.

To Waterfront... eventually

2. I go back home by SkyTrain from Surrey Central. In the few weeks I’ve done this, a train has shown up at about the same time, which allows me to make a crucial bus connection at a Vancouver station. I don’t know if it’s because it’s a day before a holiday, but everything went fubar. I might have waited at the platform for about 20 minutes. Not cool. I tweeted @translink about it, but there didn’t seem to be a problem:

As I was already on a train by the time I saw it, I didn’t pursue it further, but replied back that I’ll monitor it next week if it happens again, or if tonight’s experience on the train was just an anomaly.

2 Comments on “Transit field reports, November 10”

  1. SpiderRider3 says:

    I would never count on the schedules too much. At the end of the day they’re really all just estimates.

    • Eric says:

      Thanks for the comment.

      When I saw the line for the 340, which crosses two major bridges between Scottsdale and 22nd Street Station, I knew not to assume scheduled times during PM peak.

      SkyTrain should have been eight minutes, based on past experience. I don’t see any reason why it shouldn’t been the same last night.


Leave a Reply

