2010: year of runemployment

“Runemployment” is one way to describe the year that has just passed. For almost nine months I have been out of work, the longest such stretch so far since leaving uni. Initially, it was exhilarating, particularly when I already had a week off scheduled in May, which I spent in California and Oregon. However, as summer became fall, and as I finally became a CGA, the looking-for-work situation didn’t get any easier. I’ve been told that most of 2010 has been a difficult job market generally, and for accountants in particular, and that 2011 could be more of the same. Looking at the prospects can be totally discouraging, but I should only worry about the things under my control.

And the new year is when I throw down the gauntlet. It’s similar to what happened at the beginning of 2009, when I was in the same situation, but without employment insurance. I made looking for work a full-time job, and I have to show it some respect. I have to do the same in 2011, and this time I have to focus.

Even before I became unemployed, I decided to focus my running in 2010 to improving my time in the half marathon. Initially, I set a goal time of 2:05. By the end of June, I already made that goal. I thus set a new goal of beating 2:00, and I did that too! All the time off from not working did allow me to put in more focus on my training, which this year also saw some attempts at cross-training, particularly yoga.

As a runner who is also an accountant, I have an extensive spreadsheet that has tracked every one of my runs since mid-2006. The chart above is my month-by-month mileage for the year. 2010 was the first year I’ve started tracking this, and it’s part of the fun of putting all the numbers together; I can only imagine when I get my hands on a watch that can do all that on the fly. My goal for 2011 is, at minimum, to match my 2010 mileage total (1,338 km / 831 mi).

As for racing in 2011, I’m already in the middle of training for the First Half Half Marathon in February and the Vancouver Marathon in May. My goal for the latter is to get close to, if not beat, 4:20. I am weighing my options for a fall race. Victoria and the Okanagan are the usual standbys, but Portland and Chicago are meriting some consideration. And even further ahead, I do want to try a triathlon (sprint, maybe Olympic distance) at some point in 2012.

At the moment, I have four things I want to achieve in 2011, all realistic and doable:

  1. Find a job
  2. Run my next marathon in 4:20
  3. Run at least the same distance as I ran in 2010
  4. Meet more people (from this post)

I sincerely hope you have a happy and prosperous 2011!

2 Comments on “2010: year of runemployment”

  1. […] 130 km (81 mi) each month to the end of the year, I can still match my 2010 mileage (and meet one of my goals that I set at the beginning of the year). Considering I’ve run 127 km in each of August and […]

  2. […] say “dashed” because the things I wanted to achieve in 2011 from this time last year didn’t really happen. I was technically employed for half the year, but in temporary roles. […]


Leave a Reply

