Training update: injury

It’s been said that as a runner, it’s a matter of when, not if, you get injured. I can count one instance where a nagging injury really curtailed my running: after finishing my first marathon in 2009, I suffered from weeks of knee pain. I recall not taking it well; I ended runs partway, and felt miserable and angry on the walk back to where I started. (I posted about it here.)

After a couple of weeks of this, I visited my chiropractor and focused on cross-training. Lo and behold, that worked: I ran the Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas Half Marathon pain-free.

This brings me to what happened last week. My training clinic held a tempo time trial. At the time, I intended to hold back and average under 6:00/km. But the competitive urge kicked in, and I averaged under 5:30/km. Not only that, I ran a negative split, with the second half done in a headwind. The wind was so strong at the end that I was surprised I managed forward movement in the last 400 metres. At the time, it felt great, but the run came at a price. What was a niggling ankle problem moved up the leg and became a strained adductor muscle. Later this week, after some icing, and no running, it spread to the inside of the knee, then partially returned to the ankle.

Needless to say, with the aches on my leg, I was dreading the scheduled Saturday run earlier today. On the other hand, with the unexpected week off, I was also anticipating it. Even though I’m scheduled to go 30 km, I knew I wasn’t going to go that far. Even the 16 km scheduled for those training for a half marathon might be too much. In the end, I ran for almost 10.5 km (or 75 min) with no significant pain during the run. It’s a small victory for sure, but I’m not out of the woods yet. Another easy week, possibly with a trip to the pool, is in order. Hope it works, because the Vancouver Marathon is 6 weeks away…

2 Comments on “Training update: injury”

  1. […] past years, when I’ve essentially raced it, and with progressively faster times each year. My nagging injury from the previous week meant I couldn’t run this one fast, but I felt OK enough to treat it […]

  2. […] 2011 in Running | Tags: injury, marathon, postaweek2011, training As a follow up to my last two entries, I probably shouldn’t have done the back-to-back runs last weekend, even if they were […]


Leave a Reply

