Setback

I may not be signed up for any races, post BMO, but I’m keeping up with my running, going 3-4 times a week. During my tempo run earlier this week, I progressively got faster with each kilometre, and generally felt great when it was over. The next couple of days weren’t so great, however. And now, about a week after that tempo run, I’ve come to the sad realization that I’ve re-injured the right ankle that cut short my marathon training earlier this spring.

If there’s anything positive to come from this, it’s that I’ve injured the same body part as last time. I can think of a couple of reasons why it happened. One reason could be that I haven’t fully recovered from the original injury. But since I’ve run similar progressive tempo runs in previous weeks without any major aches, I’m doubting that’s the case. The other reason could be my shoes. Both times, the event that brought on the injury was a fast tempo run, and both times, I was wearing the same pair of neutral trainers. That can’t be a coincidence. Are there any other causes I might have missed?

I’m certainly not happy with the recurrence of this injury, so I’ll have to turn back to the much-neglected standby that is cross-training. With the weather improving, it will be torturous to use the exercise cycles at my gym, but that’s how it will have to be until the ankle heals. At least this time, I can add some yoga again, thanks to a Groupon from a few weeks ago that will be expiring at the end of this month. (And don’t get me started about also being inconsistent with the yoga.) And hopefully by the end of the summer, I should be in decent enough shape to attempt to train for a 5k or 10k race.

Leave a Reply

