Three years ago: a memorable trip began

Me and the Eiffel Tower

On this day in 2008, I embarked on a trip that was years in the making, and despite its brief length (38 days in all), I still have great memories of pretty much all of it.

It was certainly an interesting time to go away; I had left a job at a company where I’d been for almost five years, and little did I know that I would be coming back to a tumultuous time in the economic sphere whose effects I’m still feeling (i.e. unemployment and underemployment). But none of that affected me as I traveled through Scotland, Ireland, Wales, London, and Paris. You can read all about it in my travelogue here, and select photos are on my flickr.

My financial situation has of course precluded me from additional travel since then, which is a darn pity, because my wanderlust has never really gone away, and it would be fun to go on a trip again. I’m sure that will come in time, but the priority is to find a decent job that can last more than a few months and that is worthy of my skills and expertise. But I can still dream…

One Comment on “Three years ago: a memorable trip began”

  1. travelingmad says:

    Nothing wrong with dreaming. Besides, those memories will last forever. Sounds like it was a pretty good trip! My travel to-do list is waiting for when I get a good job after graduation.

    Bonne Chance!


Leave a Reply

