Run update: naked mileage targets

Two things:

I forgot my GPS watch earlier today, which I realized when I boarded the bus to get to the group-run starting point. Maybe it was too early in the morning, but I was quite nonplussed about it. As long as I can measure it later, when I get home, all is well. I have run “naked” (ie. without a watch) in the past, but this was the first time I went naked on a weekend long run. It really felt good, actually. For almost 7 miles, I didn’t feel like a slave to the watch and its (sometimes spotty) pacing and I just focused on having some interesting conversations with the particular pace group I ran with. (We even talked about brunch places and for some reason I didn’t feel hungry!) Even though I’m in the heart of training, it’s really great to do an occasional run without the constraints of a watch. I’m definitely a proponent of naked running!

Not counting today’s run, my year-to-date total mileage to the end of September totaled 949 km (589 mi). With two solid months of training (mostly 4 runs per week), I feel like I’m back on track. I’ve calculated that if I average 130 km (81 mi) each month to the end of the year, I can still match my 2010 mileage (and meet one of my goals that I set at the beginning of the year). Considering I’ve run 127 km in each of August and September, it’s certainly an attainable target. It will feel great to get there, especially after the injury woes I’ve had earlier this year.

Keep on running!

Leave a Reply

