2011: the year of dashed expectations

I say “dashed” because the things I wanted to achieve in 2011 from this time last year didn’t really happen. I was technically employed for half the year, but in temporary roles. I didn’t run a marathon this year due to an overtraining injury. As a result, I fell short of matching my running mileage (1,324 km / 823 mi) from 2010. In short, it wasn’t as tough a year that 2010 was, but it wasn’t a smooth ride either.

I don’t want to dwell too much on that, as that’s about to be in the past. I’m hoping 2012 becomes a shake-up year for me personally, just as 2008 was in some ways. To that effect, I came up with four words, each of which starts with the letters of my name:

Elevation
Redemption
Interaction
Connection

I wish to elevate my game if I want to get to my various goals for 2012 (more on them later). This means being more proactive and assertive, among other things.

I want to redeem myself from the injury that prevented me from running a marathon in 2011. Finishing a half in under 2:00 in the fall of 2011 was part of it, but I want to make sure I train properly for the 2012 Vancouver Marathon and get to the start line.

I would like to continue meeting people outside of the social-media realm; I believe making that connection in real life improves the interactions that are made online.

My goals, therefore, are exactly the same as what I put down at the beginning of 2011.

  1. Find a job
  2. Run my next marathon (Vancouver) in 4:20
  3. Run at least the same distance as I ran in 2011
  4. Meet more people

But I’ll add one more, which is related to but distinct from #4:

  1. Start dating again

That’s one that has always been there (in my head), but now it’s public. Certain events in 2011 have just made this concept a little more pressing than before. It’s time to shake the fear and get out there, and that applies to all five!

I wish all of you a happy and terrific 2012!

3 Comments on “2011: the year of dashed expectations”

  1. Kelownagurl says:

    I wish you the best for 2012, Eric!

  2. […] as finishing the race itself, so that mission is accomplished. It almost fulfills the “Redemption” theme I gave myself at the start of the […]

  3. […] back to this time last year, I put down five goals. Goal #1 about finding a job is incomplete; I am in the middle of a […]


Leave a Reply

