Training update: soaked

Last year around this time, I ran 27 km during a training run, and I actually quite enjoyed it, despite the cold, windy conditions. This past weekend, it was also windy, but I certainly did not enjoy this long run that I completed in exactly three hours.

This was the third of three consecutive weeks in which I ran segments of the Vancouver Marathon course as a preview. It was actually OK for the first 20 minutes, but once I was on the Burrard Bridge, the rain started. And it never stopped the whole time I was out on the run. It’s been said that a run in the rain can do wonders, but this was not one of them. I thought the rain would be tolerable, but once I rounded the turn on the Stanley Park seawall around Prospect Point, I got buffeted by strong headwinds. Even when I exited the park and away from the water, the rain just continued.

There was a point around km 20 when the laces on one of my shoes became untied. My hands were so numb it took me several attempts to re-tie them. I don’t know how or why, but I kept going once that ordeal was done. I wanted to finish at least 26 km, but it wasn’t to be that day. I finally stopped my watch at the three-hour mark, 25.5 km, and a lot of soaked clothes.

What with this rain and the snow from a few weeks ago, I’m just hoping the running gods will take all this horrible weather into account and give Vancouver Marathon participants a decent day for a race.

One Comment on “Training update: soaked”

  1. Jennifer says:

    Nice 27k. Too bad you didn’t run yesterday- we were totally dry.


Leave a Reply

