2012 wrap-up

When I look back at 2012, I feel I’ve moved forward in some respects (running, relationships) but stalled in others (job), and for that I feel that it was a good year overall, despite the specific goals I set for myself.

Going back to this time last year, I put down five goals. Goal #1 about finding a job is incomplete; I am in the middle of a contract, but nothing is guaranteed at the moment. Goal #2 (completing the Vancouver Marathon in 4:20) proved to be slightly optimistic. I applied the lessons for training for that into the NYC Marathon, but that came to naught as well when it was cancelled, However, what I did and witnessed on Staten Island on the day the marathon was supposed to have been held will stay with me for a very long time.

At least all the training I did for two marathons brought my running mileage (goal #3) up this year. I finished with 1,723 km (1,071 mi). As for goal #4, I suppose I did expand my network through social media and through my professional contacts. Opportunities did arise out of them, but nothing concrete.

And goal #5 did yield a result. After a few months of dating, I’m in the middle of a great relationship. I’m happy in that respect, and I’m hoping that other aspects of my life fall in place during 2013.

These are my goals for 2013:

  1. Find a job (third year’s the charm, right?)
  2. Achieve a new personal best in the half marathon (I want to attempt at least two in 2013)
  3. Incorporate more cross-training (schedule in something at least once a week with my other run workouts)
  4. Run at least 1,000 miles (1,609 km) during the year (a tough but doable challenge)

With that, I wish you all a happy and healthy 2013!

Leave a Reply

