Race report: 2013 Fall Classic 10k

Better late than never to report on my final race of 2013. I was partly drawn to this year’s swag; instead of the typical shirt, of which I have way too many, the race organizers have offered a pair of tights. It was only in the last year that I have started to wear tights for winter running. Considering how expensive tights usually are, I took the opportunity to snag a pair and enter a race.

Race weather was good, i.e. not raining. As I have run this event in past years, sometimes in brutal conditions, it’s practically a miracle. I was in maintenance mode between finishing the Okanagan Half and the start of this race. I wasn’t looking to break a personal best, but at least I was going to give myself a chance to do so.

I knew there was an uphill in the first 3-4 km, so I had a tentative start. It was in the second half that I really noticed the slight inclines on the course. When one races at a really fast pace, these things seem more obvious.

There was a wind-tunnel effect in the one-kilometre straightaway on UBC’s Main Mall. But we turned 180º for the last kilometre, so I combined a tailwind with a late surge and carried it to a sub-5:00 last kilometre and finished with a chip time of 52:49. I beat the 10K PB I only set two months ago by 29 seconds.

This result was the proverbial icing on the cake that was my 2013 race experience. I’m very happy with how strongly I’ve raced in every event. Now that I’ve set my race calendar for 2014, the expectations will be just as high.

Leave a Reply

