Race report: 2014 Modo Spring Run-off 8k

This was the 8th running of the Spring Run-off 8k (I’ve run all eight so far!), and the first under the title sponsorship of Modo, the locally-based car-sharing cooperative, of which I am a member. The sponsorship gives the race a nice local flavour, and Modo certainly made strides to highlight that, showcasing other local programs and initiatives at the expo in the Stanley Park Pavilion, as well as putting on display several cars available in Modo’s fleet.

As for training for this race, I considered this as a maintenance period between two half marathons. I put in some strong tempo and interval sessions, and added some race-pace practice in the middle of the weekend long runs. Considering how I’ve been getting closer to the 40-minute finish time in past years, I felt I can challenge myself to break it this year.

I went to the start line, thinking I can start conservatively (around 5:05-5:10/km) and get the negative split. For some reason, the corral system didn’t work as planned; when the gun went off, I had to weave around some people, which can be dangerous in tight confines and on a downhill. Once the crowds separated themselves, I found myself finishing each of the first two kilometres under 5:00. I quickly changed strategy to ease up for km 3-5, hoping I’ve banked enough time. I found some folks with whom I kept pace, and that worked: I ran about 5:05/km for those three kilometres.

It became a different race when we passed the Prospect Point lighthouse and went into a headwind. Without many people I can chase, I decided to do small surges over kilometres 6 and 7. The second and last aid station was just after the 7 km marker, but it was also at the base of the long uphill (the first one). I should have foregone the sport drink and used the momentum from the last moments of the seawall to take me up the hill. Nevertheless, I reminded myself to use my arms to propel myself uphill, and even started passing other runners. There was a 400-metre flat section of reprieve before the cruel, final uphill to the finish. Throughout this last kilometre, I was very aware of my time and whether I can hold on to stay under 40 minutes.

When all was said and done, my chip time was 39:52. It was definitely one of the toughest races I’ve run. I’m happy I can now run a sub-5:00 pace (albeit just barely) for 8 km. The next challenge, of course, is to replicate that on a 10k race. But that’s for another time. My next race is the Scotia Half, and I’m hoping for more positive results!

Result:
39:52 (4:59/km, 8:01/mi)
198/771 overall
142/412 males
30/68 males 30-34

Leave a Reply

