Training update: Epic May

Sharing some quick stats for May:

  • 169 km (105 mi) run – my first 100-mile month in almost two years, when I was training for the NYC Marathon. Having five weekend long runs right at the peak of half-marathon training helps.
  • 155 km  (96 mi) total cycling; most of that is in the occasional commute to/from work. The last week of May was also Bike to Work Week; it was the first time I cycled to work each day of the week (I logged 67 km in total that week, including non-commute rides).

This past weekend, I finished my longest training run for the Scotia Half. This training cycle so far has been very good. I thought all the cycling would be a hindrance to the running, but that hasn’t been the case. Keep in mind that for my commute-cycling, I deliberately kept it slow to minimize the sweating that I’d endure when I get in to the office.

I’m now in a three-week taper, but the training continues…

 

Leave a Reply

