Race report: 2017 New York City Marathon

Selfie in front of an ad for the 2017 NYC Marathon

It will move you

So, New York… we meet again!

Returning to NYC for the first time since running the marathon in 2014, I knew going into training that the minimum goal is to beat the 4:55:15 from three years ago.

The 16-week training cycle didn’t start as well as I would have liked; a sore knee was affecting my runs, and even when I wasn’t running. But trips to a physiotherapist and a chiropractor helped improve that. Even so, personal and professional commitments had me move my workouts so that I would go for days without running, then do three runs in four days. And on top of that, I signed up for a Virtual Trainer (VT) program that is based on my goals and past running. While I barely kept up with the workouts provided by the trainer, I enjoyed more the associated Facebook group where I connected with other VT users through advice and support. Over time, my main feed was almost exclusively populated with posts from the VT group.

For the flight to New York, I settled on a non-stop flight from Vancouver to JFK, but it was a red-eye on Cathay Pacific. Once I cleared security at YVR, I forced myself to think in New York time, which actually worked, as I managed to function mostly normally on a full Thursday. For accommodation, I stayed again in Brooklyn; it was a four-storey brownstone where other guests were there for the Marathon, either as runners, or parents or children of runners, or a member of the press corps covering the race.

Heading to Staten Island on race day, I just felt relaxed; as my second NYC Marathon, there wasn’t as much jitters as in 2014. The lines were still there, testing my legs early, and questioning why I’m there, but once in the start village, I was ready to go.

Unlike in 2014, I started on the upper level of the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge, and that was an experience. Also unlike other races, I didn’t have a detailed strategy regarding pacing or milestones. A steady pace, with some surges, was the goal.

The drizzle started early, around mile 3, and never really stopped. It was typical Vancouver weather, and I was enjoying it. The simple shirt-and-shorts outfit was suited for this, and I was glad I didn’t layer up.

As in training, my fueling was necessarily precise: one gel packet every 25 minutes. Sometimes I timed it to be just before a water stop; the rest I used the water bottle I brought with me. That strategy worked; I was expecting some kind of wall or bonk on crossing back to Manhattan from the Bronx, but it never happened. I even picked up a bit of speed along 5th Avenue.

As the miles remaining went to single digits, I did my mental calculations to see if I can make 4:50, since going 4:55 looked likely by the time I entered Central Park. I rounded the turn off Columbus Circle with a chance, but even with a final kick I finished at 4:50:19.

Posing with the finisher medal at the 2017 NYC Marathon

I’m going to print and frame this! Moments after receiving my medal.

I crossed that finish line almost five minutes faster than when I ran the same course in 2014. I ran this marathon end-to-end non-stop without hitting the wall. This is a double win.

I went into this marathon not sure if I’d do another one. The training, while solid at the end, was inconsistent in terms of timing, which is one thing I’d like to control better. But after the way I ran it, I think I want at least one more chance to break my all-time personal best (4:39 in my first marathon in 2009).

For now, I’m going to take it easy until the end of the year. No training, but just run as I feel. I already have a couple races nailed down for 2018, but no marathons, yet…

Result:
4:50:19
32397 overall
21191 male
3571 male 35-39



Leave a comment